facebook twitter goodreads
allen eskens


Book 1
The Life We Bury
Joe Talbert Novel
My debut novel
Book 5   (Now Out!)
Shadows We Hide
Joe Talbert Novel
Sequel to The Life We Bury

Book 2
The Guise of Another
Max Rupert Novel
With Alexander Rupert as
Book 3
The Heavens May Fall
Max Rupert Novel
With Boady Sanden as
Book 4
The Deep Dark Descending
Max Rupert Novel

A Map of My Work

As explained on the home page, because I don’t write a series, but rather character arcs that revolve around a small community, I thought I would take a moment to lay out the relationships between my books and characters.

The Life We Bury introduces the four main characters who appear in future novels:

Joe Talbert—protagonist in The Life We Bury and The Shadows We Hide.

Max Rupert—a homicide detective in The Life We Bury is the focus of novels 2, 3 and 4.

Boady Sanden—attorney, is a secondary character in novels 1 and 3, but will be the lead in novel 6.

Lila Nash—a supporting character in novels 1, 3 and 5, will likely be the protagonist of novel number 7.

The Shadows We Hide is the sequel to The Life We Bury. It is the story of Joe Talbert, his brother Jeremy, his mother Kathy, and of course, Lila Nash, Joe’s girlfriend. The story picks up six years after the end of The Life We Bury and revisits the aftermath of decisions made in the The Life We Bury.

The Guise of Another, The Heavens May Fall, and The Deep Dark Descending follow the progression of Max Rupert as he goes from being a man with a strong moral code to a man fighting against his darkest nature.